Jules: "An anonymous donor in Switzerland between 1990 and 1995" - June 2021

Interview with Jules, anonymous donor in Switzerland between 1990 and 1995

Jules got in touch with Jessica and Vanessa from "Sur terre via donneur" following their radio appearance on Forum RTS on 26 May 2021 to present their platform. He generously accepted to talk to us to give us his point of view as a donor in the context of medically assisted reproduction with donor. His first contact message is very touching:

"Bravo for your approach. I stumbled upon the "Forum des Idées" /RTS by chance.
I was an anonymous donor from 1990 to 1995.
It was moving to listen to you.
I'm afraid I have dozens of matches... Not easy."

Introduction::

Before I begin, I would like to make it clear that my testimony is personal and does not represent the feelings of all donors. Each donor is unique, with his or her own background and values.

Why did you decide to be a donor? In what state of mind?

A sweet mixture of antagonisms. I was fully aware of the happiness and life I was transmitting. Of the expectations and needs that existed. I thought long and hard and felt guilty about the financial compensation it gave me.

At that time, the future parents financed their insemination(s). They had to have been married for three years and their wealth was a selection criterion. This was very important to me. These rules were supposed to guarantee a happy childhood in a privileged social environment and this was a point of disagreement with the system. I felt that this class discrimination was unfair.

In conclusion, I remember telling myself that I assumed I had good genes and that if I had not done so someone else would have taken my place. Instinctively, it is pleasant and flattering for a man to be asked to transmit Life. Greed and altruism were intertwined. I was combining the useful with the pleasant. I provided happiness while benefiting from a complete health check-up and a medical-sexual follow-up (it was the AIDS years). As the years went by, a feeling of power appeared, linked to my supposedly prolific progeny. I could spontaneously describe this feeling as "Genghis Kahn syndrome".

The Professor in charge of the insemination programme was the great alchemist of matching. The parents trusted him and so did the donors. According to the explanations he gave me, as an anonymous person my card was "ethnic origin, height, morphology, eye and hair colour" and so on for each donor. The Professor had cards (for each donor) to determine the closest possible match to the future father. By the way, the physical mismatch mentioned in one of your testimonies surprised me.

By signing as an anonymous donor, we were also making the reverse commitment not to seek to identify our descendants and never to attempt to make contact. The Professor also told me that he would make exchanges in order to preserve the diversity of donor DNA. I remember exchanges with sperm banks in Canada and France in particular.

Speaking of numbers, I must have donated nearly 300 test tubes. I remember that I stopped donating when the Professor told me that I had reached the fateful threshold where my future descendants had a 1 in 300,000 chance of meeting. (Editor's note: reading between the lines, the population at the time for Switzerland was 7 million, so Jules would probably have about 23-24 children from his donations).

What are your fears?

Manageable, my fears are mostly emotional. To be overwhelmed by so many descendants. I would like to be able to take the time to discover and offer as much of myself as possible to everyone. You're looking for one person, while I'm guessing there are many.

How do you feel about the anonymity of donation?

I would like you to know that you have relieved me of a certain weight, of a certain guilt linked to this anonymity. It was burdensome for us and unfair for you (the people born of the donation). At the time, the cumulative circumstances of the recipient parents and the possible civil consequences of an offspring pushed most donors to remain anonymous. The Professor spoke to us about an average of 11 inseminations for 1 positive. So some mothers-to-be came just once, while for others the inseminations lasted more than two years.

Do you know any other anonymous donors from that time?

Yes, I have remained in contact and stayed friends with several donors from my time. As I go through my own process, I will contact them to inform them of your existence and to pass on my testimony from donor to donor.

At the launch in the 1970s, apparently many of the donors recruited were medical students, was this also the case in your donor group or were there no medical students?

There were no medical students among the twenty or so donors I knew. I knew the vast majority of them, at least by sight, as we were almost all in the same professional field.

How were you 'recruited'? How did you hear about the donor search?

I don't remember exactly. It was word of mouth. It seems to me that those from the year before were there first, while little by little those who were one year younger were recruited. We were a good team. There was a good atmosphere between us, we organised car pooling on Tuesday mornings and Thursdays at noon.

What is the best way to describe yourself in relation to a child born from your donation? Donor? Genitor? Biological father?

At the time: Donor.

Then: Donor, Transmitter.

Today: Donor, biological father.

At the time of your donations, did you consider this donation to be equivalent to a blood donation? 

No. Never,

Semen is not blood.
I always "put myself in the place" of this father who could not conceive. I saw myself as a bit of a crutch. I always imagined this family being born.

In my conversations with the Professor, I (and other donors) expressed concern about what would happen to the sperm. We were all very intelligent and aware of the implications of our actions. We were concerned that no abuse would taint this process.

Has this been taboo with your family and close circle? Who knows that you were a donor?

No taboos, no secrets.

What kind of tests were done? Psychological interview? Blood tests?

Very long, complete, including DNA. I remember the interview with the geneticist. He liked my genes because of the 3 particular chromosomes. We all feared the DNA test and came out rather emboldened if positive.
I remember potential donors being turned away at this stage.
At 18, it was also a validation of our fertility,

The 'psych' part was a bit neglected, it seems to me. The shrink was the Professor's medical secretary. So I don't remember any psych except for long talks with the Professor of Gynaecology. But I could have overlooked this detail. In principle, I don't remember it. The big psych issue was the choice to become anonymous, semi-anonymous or not anonymous. For this choice, we were not in a hurry. We were well informed. Sorry for the comparison, like for a woman about to have an abortion, they re-explained the consequences to us before we signed for anonymity. This was done by the Professor's personal secretary, who also managed the finances. That is to say, the payment of the indemnities by anonymous cheque to the bearer. She managed the contacts and blood test appointments every 2 to 3 months for STD monitoring.

Do you regularly think about the children of your donations or not at all?

Yes, always. Also maybe a bit more because my first naturally conceived child was recently born in 2020.

What should a person born by donation write in a letter to their donor to encourage a positive response?

Each and every donor is different. The possible reasons for keeping to oneself in are different for each one.

One of my friends today is a close friend and former donor. I talked to him about it. For him it was anonymous and it should remain so. Punkt Schluss. (And that's that.) The letter in "Podcast Hondelatte raconte: "PMA - Arthur finds his parent" - March 2021" is great. Inspiring. Short and to the point. He went through a couple of intermediate friends. In this case, I don't think you should take the risk that your message/letter could be intercepted/opened by someone else. The intro (reassuring) I am not looking for a father, a family. And the thank you to the donor for his gesture. A word about your own possible offspring. Do not insist on the intensity of the research undertaken. Summarise or leave a door half-open to optimise the chance that led you to him. Let your heart speak.

How did you come to want the possibility to make yourself known to the people who were conceived from your donations?

I was wondering about this from the beginning. It may sound ridiculous but it was watching the film "STARBUCK" 7 or 8 years ago that put me on the path -> https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Starbuck_(film) .This film has de-dramatized my vision while being touching and funny. Then the birth of my daughter last summer, your testimony on RTS, our exchanges, MyHeritage DNA (I posted the kit in return) and since this journey is underway, I am overwhelmed, a bit like in a state of shock.

Today Jules has not yet received his DNA results. We will come back, if he is willing, for an interview no. 2 following the potential discovery of people from his donations. To be continued...

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>
*
*

*

code

Jules: « Un donneur anonyme en Suisse entre 1990 et 1995 » – Juin 2021

Entretien avec Jules, donneur anonyme en Suisse entre 1990 et 1995

Jules s’est mis en contact avec Jessica et Vanessa de « Sur terre via donneur » suite à leur passage à la radio sur Forum RTS le 26 mai 2021 pour présenter leur plateforme. Il a généreusement accepté de s’entretenir avec nous pour nous donner son point de vue de donneur dans le contexte de la procréation médicalement assistée avec donneur. Son premier message de contact très touchant:

« Bravo pour votre démarche. Je suis tombé par hasard sur le Forum des idées/RTS.
J’étais donneur anonyme de 1990 à 95.
C’était émouvant de vous écouter.
J’ai peur d’avoir des dizaines de matchs… Pas évident. »

Intro:

Avant de commencer, j’aimerais préciser que mon témoignage est personnel, il n’est pas représentatif du ressenti des donneurs. Chaque donneur est unique avec son parcours et ses valeurs.

Pourquoi avez-vous décidé d’être donneur? Dans quel état d’esprit?

Un doux mélange d’antagonismes. J’avais pleinement conscience du bonheur et de la vie que je transmettais. De l’attente et des besoins existants. J’ai longuement réfléchi et culpabilisé par rapport à l’indemnité financière que cela me procurait.

À l’époque, les futurs parents finançaient leur(s) insémination(s). Ils devaient absolument être mariés depuis 3 ans et leur aisance était un critère de sélection. Ce point me pesait beaucoup. Ces règles devaient garantir une enfance heureuse au sein d’un milieu social favorisé et c’était là un point de désaccord avec le système. Cette discrimination de classes m’apparaissait injuste.

En conclusion, je me rappelle m’être dit que j’assumais avoir de bons gènes et que si je ne l’avais pas fait un autre aurait pris la place. Instinctivement, c’est plaisant et flatteur pour un homme d’être sollicité pour transmettre la Vie. Cupidité et altruisme s’entremêlaient. Je joignais l’utile à l’agréable. Je procurais du bonheur tout en bénéficiant d’un bilan de santé complet et d’un suivi médico-sexuel (c’était les années sida). Au fil des années est apparu un sentiment de puissance liée à ma progéniture supposée prolifique. Je pourrais qualifier spontanément ce sentiment de « syndrome Gengis Kahn ».

Le Professeur en charge du programme d’insémination était le grand alchimiste de l’appariement. Les parents lui faisaient confiance, les donneurs aussi. D’après les explications qu’il me donnait, en tant qu’anonyme ma fiche se résumait à « Origine ethnique, taille, morphologie, couleur des yeux et des cheveux » et ainsi de suite pour chaque donneur. Le professeur disposait de cartes (pour chaque donneur) afin de déterminer le plus proche possible du futur papa. D’ailleurs, la non-concordance physique évoquée dans l’un de vos témoignages m’a surpris.

En signant comme donneur anonyme, nous prenions aussi l’engagement inverse de ne pas rechercher à identifier notre descendance et de ne jamais tenter d’entrer en contact. Le Professeur me disait aussi procéder à des échanges afin de préserver la diversité des ADN donneurs. Je me rappelle d’échanges avec des banques de sperme au Canada et en France notamment.

À propos du nombre, j’ai dû offrir près de 300 éprouvettes. Je me rappelle avoir cessé les dons lorsque le Professeur m’annonça que j’arrivais au seuil fatidique où mes futurs descendants avaient 1 chance sur 300’000 de se rencontrer (ndlr : en lisant entre les lignes, la population à l’époque pour la Suisse était de 7 millions, donc Jules aurait vraisemblablement environ 23-24 enfants issus de ses dons).

Quelles sont vos craintes ?

Surmontables, elles sont d’ordre émotionnel. De me retrouver submergé par tant de descendant.e.s. Le cas échéant, j’aimerais être à la hauteur et pouvoir prendre le temps de découvrir et offrir autant de moi à chacun.e. Voyez-vous la situation? Vous recherchez une seule personne tandis que je suppute en retrouver de nombreuses.

Quel est votre état d’esprit par rapport à l’anonymat du don ?

Sachez déjà que vous me délivrez d’un poids, d’une certaine culpabilité liée à cet anonymat. C’était pesant pour nous et injuste pour vous (personnes issues du don). À l’époque, les circonstances cumulées de la part des parents receveurs et les éventuelles conséquences sur le plan civil d’une descendance poussaient la plupart des donneurs à rester anonymes. Le Professeur nous parlait d’une moyenne de 11 inséminations pour 1 positif. Donc certaines futures mamans venaient juste une fois tandis que pour d’autres cela durait plus de deux ans.

Connaissez-vous d’autres donneurs anonymes de l’époque?

Oui, je suis resté en contact et ami avec plusieurs donneurs de mon époque. Au fur et à mesure de ma propre démarche, je les contacterai pour les informer de votre existence et leur transmettre mon témoignage de donneur à donneur.

Au lancement dans les années 70, apparemment beaucoup de donneurs recrutés étaient des étudiants de médecine, est-ce que c’était le cas aussi dans votre groupe de donneurs ou il n’y avait pas d’étudiants en médecine?

Il n’y avait aucun étudiant du domaine médical parmi la vingtaine de donneurs que je connaissais. J’en connaissais la grande majorité, au moins de vue, car nous faisions presque tous partie de la même filière professionnelle.

Comment avez-vous été “recruté “? Comment avez-vous entendu parler de la recherche de donneurs?

Je ne me rappelle pas exactement. C’était du bouche à oreille. Il me semble que ceux de l’année d’avant y étaient en premier, tandis que petit à petit, ceux qui avaient 1 année de moins étaient recrutés. Nous étions une bonne équipe. Il régnait une bonne ambiance entre nous, nous nous organisions pour le covoiturage les mardi matin et le jeudi à midi.

Quel terme vous paraît le plus juste pour vous désigner par rapport à un enfant issu de votre don? Donneur? Géniteur? Père biologique?

Sur le moment: Donneur.

Ensuite: Donneur, Transmetteur.

Aujourd’hui: Donneur, Père biologique.

A l’époque de vos dons, est-ce que vous considériez ce don équivalent à un don de sang? 

Non. Jamais.

Du sperme ce n’est pas du sang.
Je me suis toujours «mis à la place» de ce papa qui ne pouvait pas. Je me voyais un peu comme une béquille. J’ai toujours imaginé cette famille qui naissait.

Mes relations avec le Professeur exprimaient bien mon (nos) soucis de ce qu’il adviendrait du sperme. Nous étions tous très intelligents et conscients de la portée de nos actes. Soucieux qu’aucun abus n’entache cette démarche.

Est-ce que cela a été tabou avec votre famille et votre entourage proche? Qui est au courant que vous avez été un donneur?

Non pas de tabou, ni secret.

Quels genre d’examens étaient faits? Entretien psychologique? Prises de sang ?

Très longs, complets, y compris ADN. Je me rappelle de l’entretien avec le généticien. Il aimait mes gènes à cause des 3 chromosomes particuliers. Nous craignions tous l’étape du test ADN et nous en sortions plutôt enhardis en cas de positif.
Je me rappelle de potentiels futurs donneurs écartés à cette étape.
À 18 ans, c’était aussi une validation de notre fertilité, sans passer par la case …

La partie « psy » était un peu négligée, il me semble. La psy était la secrétaire médicale du Professeur. Donc pas de souvenir de psy à part de longs entretiens avec le Professeur de gynécologie. Mais j’ai pu occulter ce détail. À priori, je ne m’en rappelle pas. Le grand enjeu psy était le choix de devenir anonyme, semi-anonyme ou non anonyme. Pour ce choix, nous n’étions pas pressés. Bien informés. Pardon, pour la comparaison, comme pour une femme sur le point d’avorter, on nous réexpliquait les conséquences avant de signer pour l’anonymat. C’est la secrétaire personnelle du Professeur qui faisait ça et gérait aussi les finances. C’est-à-dire le paiement des indemnités via chèque anonyme au porteur. Elle gérait les contacts et les rendez-vous de prise de sang tous les 2 à 3 mois pour le suivi MST.

Avez-vous régulièrement pensé aux enfants issus de vos dons ou pas du tout?

Oui toujours. Aussi peut-être un peu plus car mon premier enfant conçu naturellement est né récemment en 2020.

Qu’est-ce qu’une personne née par don devrait écrire dans une lettre s’adressant à son donneur pour favoriser un retour positif?

Chacun, chaque donneur est différent. Les raisons éventuelles de s’emmurer sont différentes pour tous.

J’ai notamment un de mes amis d’aujourd’hui, proche et ex-donneur. J’en ai parlé avec lui. Pour lui c’était anonyme et cela doit le rester. Punkt Schluss. La lettre lue dans « Podcast Hondelatte raconte: “PMA – Arthur retrouve son géniteur” – Mars 2021 » est chouette. Inspirante. Courte directe. Il est passé par un couple d’amis intermédiaires. En l’occurrence, je pense que vous ne pouvez pas prendre le risque que votre message/lettre puisse être intercepté/ouvert par un/e autre. L’intro (rassurante) je ne cherche pas un père, une famille. Et le merci au donneur pour son geste. Un petit mot sur votre éventuelle propre descendance. Ne pas insister sur l’intensité des recherches entreprises. Résumer ou laisser une porte entre-ouverte au hasard qui vous aura conduit jusqu’à lui. Laisser parler votre cœur.

Comment en êtes-vous arrivés à vouloir pouvoir vous faire connaître par les personnes issues de vos dons ?

Ça germait et je me questionnais dès le début. Cela peut sembler ridicule mais c’est le visionnage du film « FONZY », il y a 7 ou 8 ans qui m’a mis sur le cheminement -> https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fonzy . Ce film a dédramatisé ma vision tout en étant touchant et drôle. Ensuite la naissance de ma fille l’été passé, votre témoignage sur la RTS, nos échanges, MyHeritage ADN (j’ai posté le kit en retour) et depuis que ce cheminement est en route, je suis bouleversé un peu comme en état de choc.

Aujourd’hui Jules n’a pas encore reçu ses résultats ADN. Nous reviendrons, s’il le veut bien, pour un entretien no 2 suite à la potentielle découverte de personnes issues de ses dons. Affaire à suivre…

Leave a Comment

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>
*
*

*

code