19 September 2021: Marriage and MAP (Medically Assisted Procreation) for all - our position

On 26 September 2021 Switzerland will vote on the subject of Marriage for All. This bill, opposed by a referendum, would give LGBT+ couples the possibility to have access to medically assisted procreation (MAP), in particular, to sperm donation [cf Federal Council website].

This article, written by Tanya, describes the position of the site's co-founders on this issue, which is:

  • We support marriage for all.
  • We support MAP and gamete donation for both heterosexual and LGBT couples.

Particularly virulent campaigns have attacked MAP among LGBT couples, using the imagined distress of "fatherless" children as a main argument. Taking the vulgarity even further, one poster compares MAP to necrophilia, suggesting that it is about making "children with a dead person" [cf. 20 Minutes article (only in French)], based on the unlikely idea that sperm from a deceased person could be used in MAP.

I do not appreciate, as a donor conceived person, being used as a tool to advocate intolerance. Especially as the arguments used by the detractors of Marriage for All are unrealistic, as well as being downright insulting to us.

Swiss LGBT couples have been having children for decades. The difference that this law will make is that it will better protect the child: the child will not be conceived by "artisanal" means and in legal limbo. Thanks to this law, both parents (those who raise the child) will be recognised. And according to the 2001 law on the lifting of donor anonymity, the child will be able to have information about his or her origin once he or she has reached the age of majority.

I refuse to believe that the gender or orientation of the parents has a negative effect on the mental health of the child. An atypical but loving family will always be better for a child's well-being than a traditional family if it is distant or abusive. The most important thing is that a child is wanted, that his or her parents take care of his or her needs so that he or she can flourish, and also that he or she is not kept in the dark.

Indeed, it is important for any MAP that the parents are made aware of the issues surrounding it: the child needs to know the truth about his conception, and will find it easier to construct his identity knowing that he has two parents (whatever their gender), but also a donor, whose genetic material he carries within him, an inheritance that must be given importance.

We sincerely hope that the YES side will win on 26 September, and also that LGBT parents-to-be will use our site to make a well-considered decision when it comes to conceiving a child through sperm donation.

Tanya, Vanessa et Muriel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>
*
*

*

code

19 Septembre 2021: Mariage pour tous et PMA – Prise de position

Le 26 septembre 2021 la Suisse votera sur le sujet du Mariage pour tous. Ce projet de loi, contré par un référendum, donnerait la possibilité aux couples LGBT+ d’avoir accès à la procréation médicalement assistée (PMA), en particulier, au don de sperme [cf site du Conseil Fédéral].

Cet article, écrit par Tanya, décrit la position des co-fondatrices du site à ce sujet, c’est à dire:

  • Nous soutenons le mariage pour tous.
  • Nous soutenons la PMA et le don de gamètes autant pour les couples hétérosexuels que LGBT.

Des campagnes particulièrement virulentes se sont attaquées à la PMA chez les couples LGBT, utilisant la détresse imaginaire d’enfants « sans père » comme argument principal. Poussant la vulgarité encore plus loin, un poster compare la PMA à la nécrophilie, suggérant qu’il s’agit de faire « des enfants avec un mort » [cf article 20 Minutes], s’appuyant sur l’improbable idée que du sperme d’une personne décédée pourrait être utilisé lors d’une PMA.

Je n’apprécie pas, en tant qu’enfant née d’un don, d’être utilisée comme outil pour prôner l’intolérance. D’autant que les arguments employés par les détracteurs du Mariage pour tous sont peu réalistes, en plus d’être carrément insultants envers nous.

Cela fait des décennies que des couples LGBT suisses ont des enfants. La différence que fera cette loi, c’est qu’elle protégera mieux l’enfant: celui-ci ne sera pas conçu par des moyens « artisanaux » et dans le flou légal. Grâce à cette loi ses deux parents (ceux qui l’élèvent) seront reconnus. Et selon la loi de 2001 sur la levée de l’anonymat des donneurs, l’enfant pourra avoir des informations quant à son origine, une fois majeur.

Je refuse de croire que le genre ou l’orientation des parents a des effets néfastes sur la santé mentale de l’enfant. Une famille atypique mais aimante sera toujours meilleure pour le bien-être d’un enfant qu’une famille traditionnelle si celle-ci est distante ou abusive. L’essentiel c’est qu’un enfant soit désiré, que ses parents s’occupent de ses besoins pour qu’il puisse s’épanouir, et également qu’il ne soit pas gardé dans le secret.

En effet, il est important pour toute PMA que les parents soient sensibilisés aux problématiques autour de celle-ci: l’enfant a besoin de connaitre la vérité sur sa conception, et aura plus de facilité à construire son identité en sachant qu’il a deux parents (quel que soit leur genre), mais aussi un donneur, dont il porte en lui le matériel génétique, un héritage auquel il faut donner son importance.

Nous souhaitons de tout coeur que le OUI l’emporte le 26 septembre, et également que les futurs parents LGBT s’imprègnent de notre site pour prendre une décision mûrement réfléchie quand viendra le temps de concevoir un enfant en faisant recours au don de sperme.

Tanya, Vanessa et Muriel

Leave a Comment

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>
*
*

*

code